EHFOP Announces Winner And Finalists For 2017 Hemingway Shorts Competition

The Ernest Hemingway Foundation of Oak Park extends its congratulations to the winner and 10 finalists of its second annual Hemingway Shorts 2017 writing contest.

This year’s winner is Rachel Sheridan from California. Her entry is titled The Size of Jupiter. The 10 finalists in alpha order are Hal Ackerman, Severe Tire Damage; Sarah Bregel, Everybody Loves Dolly; Bill Butler, Three Days in Havana; Molia Dumbleton, Op. 37, No. 1; Jeff Fleischer, Wheelbarrow; Margaret MacInnis, Deep Snow; Jonathan Mizgala, Moths; John Power, At the Lake; Dan Szczesny, White Like Marble; and Ron Yates, Incident at the Geemer Café. Our winner and finalists collectively represent a lot of talent from coast to coast.

 The second annual Hemingway Shorts journal will be published soon and available for purchase. Details to be posted at a later date. This contest is about helping aspiring writers achieve their goals in the literary world.

The Foundation thanks David W. Berner for serving as the lead for this important program, as well as Annette Gendler for her support. David is our 2015-2017 Writer-in-Residence and Annette our 2014-2015 Writer-in-Residence. They both have recently published new novels, "October Song," and "Jumping Over Shadows," respectively.

Executive Director