The Ernest Hemingway Foundation of Oak Park fosters understanding of the life and work of Ernest Hemingway, with emphasis on his Oak Park origins and his impact on world literature. Its mission reflects the Foundation's belief in the importance of the written word and the value of thoughtful reading and writing.

The mission is accomplished through

  • outreach to diverse and international audiences through exhibitions, tours, conferences, lectures, discussion groups, publications and other educational programs and through service as a research resource

  • restoration and operation of Hemingway's birthplace and the preservation of other Hemingway sites in Oak Park

  • acquisition, conservation and management of archives and collections related to Hemingway

  • management of the Foundation's resources – human, financial and physical – by balancing innovation and economy

Advisory Board

Patrick Hemingway

A.E. Hotchner

James Nagel

Donald Offerman

James Sanford

Charles Scribner III



EHFOP Foundation Board

Executive Committee

John Berry - EHFOP Chairman

Keith Michael Fiels - Vice Chairman

Keenan Johnston – EHFOP Treasurer

Nancy Sindelar – EC Member-at-Large

David Seleb - EHFOP Secretary

Board Members

David Berner

Walt Chadick

Lorraine McCarthy

Michelle E. Moore, Ph.D.

Chris Turner

Virginia Cassin - Director Emerita

Mailing Address


P.O. BOX 2222

Oak Park, IL 60303-2222

Inquiries: info@ehfop.org


Foundation Staff

Keith Strom - Executive Director                     

Carla Mayer  - Volunteer Coordinator